Total Quality Management: EFQM, MBNQA, and Deming Prize

Subject: Management
Pages: 3
Words: 627
Reading time:
3 min
Study level: College


Total Quality Management entails the utilization of quantitative models and human resources. In fact, the application of the models and resources is aimed at improving the processes within a business. The result is that the customers’ current and future needs will be superseded. However, TQM’s essential characteristics are being strategically based, have a commitment to quality, and employ a scientific model for conducting business (Clark, 2002). This study compares and contrasts three quality management models namely EFQM, MBNQO, and Deming Prize.

The European Foundation for Quality Management (EQFM)

This model was founded in 1989 by fourteen principal organizations. It seeks to stimulate and facilitate an organization to adopt and apply the core principles of excellence. On the other hand, it oversees the improvement of the European economy and strives to bridge the competition gap between the United States/Japan and Europe. The fundamental ideas of this model include the achievement of a balanced result, augmenting value for the client, management of the organizational processes, and attaining success through people. The model also entails the development of partnerships, taking liability to attain a sustainable future, embracing creativity and innovation, as well as leadership with vision, motivation, and honesty. The key results of this model include quality products, services, and processes aimed at meeting the organizational core business and customer satisfaction.

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQO)

This framework was founded in 1987 under the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Improvement Act (Lai, 2012). It appreciates the role-model organizations via the establishment of criteria for the evaluation of improvement attempts. Besides, it facilitates the sharing of best practices. Thus, it has embraced the non-profit, education, and healthcare sectors.

Deming Prize

Deming is an annual prize given to the establishments that implement TQM systems appropriately for the organization. In fact, it considers the type of enterprise and the organization environment. Nonetheless, it is not designed for specific organizations. That is, any organization can apply for the award. Generally, the model recognizes organizations that approach client-oriented objectives in a positive way and in accordance with the management philosophy. The organizations must have a TQM model properly implemented to attain business objectives. The results of the TQM model employed by the organization must have social and economic significance as well as address the sustainability of the environment.

Comparison of the models

EFQM Fundamental Concepts MBNQA Fundamental Values and Concepts Deming Prize Eligibility
Value addition for clients Client-driven quality Products and services relevant to society
Visionary, inspirational, and honesty leadership Focused leadership Leadership suitable for the type of business
Success through people Appreciation of employees, stakeholders, and partners The human resource must be recognized
Process management Managing by fact and agility The organization is responsible for the production of quality outputs
Systems perspective Management suitable for the organization
Taking accountability for sustainable future Organizational and individual learning as well as a future communal responsibility Sustainable environmental practices
Partnership development Appreciation of employees, stakeholders, and partners Responsibility to manage the workforce
Embracing innovation and inventiveness Management for innovation Ensures organizational and individual development
Attaining balanced results Focusing on results and creation of value Socially and economically significant products and services


MBNQA and EFQM are similar in that they include ISO 8 Management. They are different on a principle where the ISO lacks innovation and results. MBNAQ is stronger regarding “Systems Perspective” while EFQM is more powerful regarding “Management by process”. The Deming Prize is similar to the previous models as it embraces EFQM’s “management by process” and MBNQA’s “systems perspective” so long as the organization is responsible for the production of quality products and services. The management style is left to the organization under the Deming Prize model to allow organizations to choose the most suitable model but in tandem with the management philosophy.


Clark, G. (2002). Quality matters decade of quality 1989 – 2000. London, UK: Spire City Publishing.

Lai, L. (November 2012). Preliminary comparison study among ISO 9001, MBNQA and EFQM. Hong Kong Society for Quality, 1-51.